Situated on the coast of the Vale of Glamorgan, Llantwit Major RFC is a rugby club with a rich history dating back to the early 1880’s. Whilst there is speculation that the club were playing fixtures in the early part of the 1880’s the first recorded match took place on the 20th of November 1889 between local rivals Cowbridge. Despite the defeat this match created an appetite for rugby in the town and it wasn’t long before they started to boast some well-known rugby names. In 1895 a local masonry worker Ernie George played for the club with George later going on to get capped for Wales. By the turn of the 20th century Hugh Hughes and David William Evans had also represented the blood and blacks whilst going on to establish international reputations.